joshua927

Smart and Caring Employee Helps Avert Disaster

Discussion created by joshua927 on Mar 4, 2019
Latest reply on Mar 4, 2019 by betterdays

I've been frequenting Sheraton D Cube since 2010.  Recently, I've stayed here on about 4 or 5 different occasions in the past 6 months.   It's good thing that I did.

Long story short- this story is about Rona, one of the associates of the hotel.

Being the dummy that I am, once I arrived at the hotel, I've realized that I left my backpack at the airport.  In my backpack was my passport, business laptop, business tablet, foreign currency, and medication.  All hope seemed lost.  I’ve recalled that I left my backpack at the parking lot while loading my luggage.  In complete darkness and at place where anyone could just easily snatch it away- virtually 0% chance of retrieval.  My business laptop, tablet, cash, medicine, and other personal belongings seemed to be lost with it.  I tried to keep calm but my head was spinning- snowball in hell’s chance of retrieving it.  In 20 years of business travel, this was my biggest moment of crisis.  Once I’ve arrived at the hotel, Rona was at the entry foyer with two other employees.  I asked for some help expecting nothing more than an obligatory- “I’m sorry, here is the phone number to the Airport Lost and Found”.  To my surprise, Rona took ownership and called the Airport Lost and Found and calmly described my situation.  She directed one of the airport employees to out to the parking and scour the area.  She was good- she gave step-by-step instructions.  Surprised at her poise and leadership…..  This entire situation was out of Rona’s control, but some people just find a way to make things work, and Rona seemed to be one of those people.  My wife and I went up to the Club Lounged while waiting, albeit without much hope.