AnsweredAssumed Answered

Santa Barbara, "S"entral!

Question asked by jerrycoin on Sep 26, 2013
Latest reply on Sep 28, 2013 by jerrycoin

Few places enjoy a location to provide you with so much scenery, history, food&wine, and of course memories as The Santa Barbara area!

(Let me first ask you if you have anything to share about this area, please do!  Some of this is my first time for some of the experiences, so your comments are appreciated!)

A week in the region has allowed me to appreciate the diversity of the area.  Not being a "Sun or water worshipper", does not diminish my appreciation for the awesome  region.

Here was the Itenery, with a few photo's:

Arrival at Santa Barbara Airport from STL, via Phoenix:

This was most pleasant as avoiding LAX, was a major break for me.  The SB airport is clean, pleasant and easy!

IMG_3307.JPG

In Goleta, you can stay at the nearby CY, or go about 9 miles South to S/B!  You will find the hotels in S/B to be on the expensive side.  The CY, and The RI in Oxnard are a whole lot less!

IMG_3308.JPG

Cruise ships are making Santa Barbara a wonderful place to visit from the ship!  Sorry about the fog and haze, but this German liner was very pretty!

IMG_3337.JPG

You may want to arrive by Amtrak, the SB station is central and you can easily walk to downtown shopping, or other places of interest from the station.  I chose to visit the "Young America's Foundation" across the parking lot for a free tour of their Ronald Reagan Presidency.

IMG_3322.JPG

Here are RR's ten favorite books, on display in the center!  Much about the "Cold War" was most interesting.  Likewise, a walk to Macy's, Nordstrom's, Sak's and more were most enjoyable!

The next day was spent at The Reagan Ranch.  Not open to the public, but I was lucky enough to have a wonderful invitation and it was most memorable.

IMG_3349.JPG