First look at 2013 hotel category changes – Book before May 16, 2013 using 2012 hotel categories

Blog Post created by communitymanagers on Feb 11, 2013

Greetings Insiders,


We have a sneak peek at the new hotel categories for 2013 - on 16 May 2013, Marriott Rewards® will be implementing changes to which hotels are in which category as part of our annual review. Additionally, there will be a new Category 9, requiring 45,000 points per night for a free night stay.


Available to Insiders is a full list of hotel category changes for 2013 (categories 1-9) where you’ll find each hotel listed and their new category. This is a true leak to our Insiders community – so you’re aware of the changes and have time to take advantage of the 2012 hotel categories before they change.


Book now for the best value

  • All redemption reservations booked on or before May 15th for stays after May 16th will be honored at the point price booked. If you have not ordered your certificate prior to May 15th, call Guest Services to request the lower priced certificate before your stay
  • As always, you may book redemption reservations up to 50 weeks in advance of your stay, even before having the required points in your account. For example, on May 1, 2013 you may book your redemption stay as far out as April 16, 2014
  • You can also use Cash + Points, our newest booking tool, to book your redemption stay


Learn more about the category changes including a complete list of FAQs »


Please DO NOT contact customer support with questions about the scheduled changes until after 8:30am, February 12. This is an Insiders’ exclusive in advance of the general announcement, so Guest Services will not be staffed until tomorrow.


Safe travels in 2013!

Andy & the Marriott Rewards team





Here are a few FAQ’s

What is a hotel category?

Hotel categories determine the number of Marriott Rewards points necessary to redeem for a free night. For instance, a Category 1 hotel requires 7,500 points per redemption night while a Category 4 hotel requires 20,000 points per redemption night.




Points Required Per Night


4 Nights;

Your 5th Night is FREE!

Category 17,500
Category 210,000
Category 315,000
Category 420,000
Category 525,000
Category 630,000
Category 735,000
Category 840,000
Category 945,000


What’s changing?

The changes are effective for all redemption reservations booked after May 16, 2013. In addition, Marriott Rewards is adding a Category 9 to the award schedule which will require 45,000 points per night. The points required for Categories 1 to 8 will not be changing.


How many hotels are affected?

73% of the programs properties will remain in Categories 1-4.

63% of the properties remain unchanged.

1% of the properties will decrease by one or more categories.

36% of the properties will increase by one or more categories.